About University Center

Council of Member Institutions


The Council of Member Institutions (CMI) is composed of institutional representatives appointed by the chief officer of each of the member institutions plus the College of Lake County. The CMI elects its chairperson, vice-chairperson, and representatives to serve on the Governing Board. Those elected to the Governing Board represent the CMI itself and not their individual colleges or universities.  The slate of Governing Board candidates usually tries to achieve a balance of public university and private university representatives.  They cannot serve on the Governing Board for more than three consecutive two-year terms. The Council considers a variety of matters including recommendations from various Center committees, and in turn advises and assists the Board in matters such as:

  • facilitating inter-institutional communication.
  • coordinating academic programs.
  • identifying needed instructional support facilities and services.
  • assessing local needs.
  • electing representatives to the Governing Board.

The CMI has significant responsibility for reviewing applications for membership and proposals to bring additional degree or certificate programs to the University Center.  They make recommendations to the Governing Board about each program proposal or membership application and the Governing Board (or its Executive Committee) makes the final decision to approve or deny the applications/proposals.  The proposal forms are provided at the bottom of this page and should be submitted to Associate Dean for Academic Services and Programs Hilary Ward Schnadt at least two weeks in advance of the CMI meeting.  She may be reached at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)or (847) 665-4004.

2019-20 CMI meeting dates:  August 8, 2019; November 14, 2019; February 13, 2020; April 9, 2020

Current CMI Representatives

Benedictine University
Matt Clay National Director of Strategic Partnerships

College of Lake County
Ali O’Brien
Vice President of Community & Workforce Partnerships

Concordia University Chicago
Carol Reiseck
Associate Dean, College of Innovative and Professional Programs

DePaul University
Rebecca Popelka
Director of Community College Partnerships

Dominican University
Matthew J. Hlinak, Vice-Chair
Assistant Provost for Continuing Studies & Special Initiatives

Eastern Illinois University
Douglas J. Bower
Dean, School of Extended Learning

Elmhurst College
Timothy J. Panfil
Senior Director, Graduate Admission & Enrollment Management

National Louis University
Marisa Buscaglia
Director of Enrollment

North Park University
Trevor James
Associate Dean and Associate Professor/Director of the Business Program, School of Professional Studies

Northeastern Illinois University
R. Shayne Cofer
Acting Associate Provost

Northern Illinois University
Terry Borg
Director, External & Global Programs, College of Education

Olivet Nazarene University

Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Mandara Savage
Executive Director, SIU Extended Campus

Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
P. Denise Cobb
Provost & Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs

University of Illinois Springfield
Kathy Johnson, Chair
Regional Director, University Academic Programs & Services

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Kelly Birky
Interim Associate Director, Marketing & Strategic Communication, Center for Innovation in Teaching and Learning

Webster University
David Ramey
Senior Director

Download our Degree Program Proposal Form for Face-to-face, blended, or interactive videoconferenced degrees (revised 2.2019).

Download our Program Proposal form for Online Degrees (revised 2.2019)

Download our Certificate Program (Online or F2F or Blended) Proposal Form (revised 2.2019)

Download our Application for Institutional Membership (revised 11.2018)

Download the CMI Guidelines for Program Approval